Metro FM Music Awards 2016 Nominations – Full List Announced


The 15th Metro FM Music Awards 2016 nominations are finally here! #MMA15

The big announcement was made tonight from 7:00pm via Social Media platforms with Refiloe Mpakanyane and Phat Joe as the MCs of the night.

The 15th annual Metro FM Music Awards will be held on Saturday, February 27th, 2016 at Inkosi Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (Durban ICC) in Durban, Kwa-Zulu Natal and will be live on SABC1 – be sure to tune in and stick with for the best black carpet coverage on the web!

The 15th Metro FM Music Awards 2016 nominees are…

Song of the Year
Black Coffee – ‘We Dance Again’
Nathi – ‘Nomvula’
Price Kaybee – ‘Wajellwa’
DJ Shimza – ‘Akulalwa’
DBN Nyts – ‘Shumaya’
Riky Rick – ‘Boss Zonke’
Heavy K – ‘Umoya’
DJ Ganyani – ‘Talk to Me’
DJ Sphectacula & DJ Naves – ‘KOTW Anthem’

Best Album
Nathi – ‘Buyelekhaya’
Black Coffee – ‘Piece of Me’
Cassper Nyovest – ‘Refiloe’
Prince Kaybe – ‘Better Days’
Riky Rick – ‘Family Values’

Best Music Video
DA Les – ‘P.A.I.D’
Donald – ‘What Goes Around’
Tumi FT. Busiswa – ‘Visa’
DJ Sphectacula & DJ Naves – ‘KOTW Anthem’
Emtee – ‘Roll Up’

Best Remix
Kelly Khumalo – ‘Asine (African Soul Remix).
DJ Sliqe – ‘Do Like I Do (Remix)’
Emtee – ‘Roll Up (Re-Up)’
Tresor – ‘Never Let Me Go (Mobi Dixon Remix)’
AKA – ‘Babbest (Remix)’

Best New Artist
Nathi – ‘Buyelekhaya’
Emtee – ‘Avery’
Prince Kaybee – ‘Better Days’
Riky Rick – ‘Family Values’
FIfi Cooper – ’20FIFI’

Best Hit Single
AKA FT. Burnaboy, Khuli Chana & Yanga – ‘Baddest’
L-Tido – ‘Dlala Ka Yona’
Kwesta – ‘Nomayini’
WTF – ‘Nomusa’
Shekhinah & Kyle Deutsch – ”Back to the Beach’

Best Collaboration
DJ Sliqe ft. JR, OKmalumkoolkat & WTF – ‘iLife’
AKA FT. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana & Yanga – ‘Baddest’
Major League DJs ft. Cassper Nyovest, Riky Rick & Malumkoolkat ‘Slyza Tsotsi’
DJ Spactacula & DJ Naves ft. Professor – ‘Kings of the weekend Anthena’
Heavy K ft. Professor & Mpumi – ‘Umoya’

Best Kwaito Album
Big Nuz – ‘For The Fans’
DBN Nytes – ‘Believe’
DJ Bongz – ‘Game Changer’
Kabelo Mabalane – ‘Immotal Vol 3’

Best Duo or Group Album
DBN Nyts – ‘Believe’
Deep XCape – ‘Pandora’s Box’
Sphestacula & DJ Naves – ‘Kings Of The Weekend’
Junior Taurus & Lady Zamar – ‘Cotton Candy’
Mi Casa – ‘Home Sweet Home’

Best Urban Jazz Album
Benjamin Jephta – ‘Homecoming’
Judith Sephuma – ‘One Word’
Mpumi Dlamini – ‘Mpumi Dlamini’
Nduduzo Makhathini – ‘Listening to the Ground’
Nomfundo Xaluva – ‘From Now On’

Best Male Album
Nathi – ‘Buyelekhaya’
Black Coffee – ‘Piece of Me’
Cassper Nyovest – ‘Refiloe’
Prince Kaybee – ‘Better Days’
Riky Rick – ‘Family Values’

Best Female Album
Maleh – ‘You Make My Heart Go’
Zonke – ‘Work of Heart’
Zahara – ‘Country Girl’
Thiwe – ‘Soul Therapy’
Fifi Copper – ’20FIFI’

Best Hip Hop Album
Cassper Nyovest – ‘Refiloe’
Riky Rick – ‘Family Values’
Emtee – ‘Avery’
Fifi Cooper – ’20FIFI’
Zakwe – ‘Impande’

Best Dance Album
Mobi Dixon – ‘Tribal Soul Special Edition’
Heavy K – ‘Respect The Drumboss 2015’
DJ Sphectacula & DJ Naves – ‘Kings Of The Weekend’
Black Coffee – ‘Piece of Me’
Prince Kaybee – ‘Better Days’

Best R&B Single
Zonke – ‘Reach It’
Nathi – ‘Nomvula’
Maleh – ‘Feels SO Good’
Cici – ‘Runaway’
Vincent Bones – ‘My lady’

Best Urban Gospel Album
Ntokozo Mbambo – ‘Spirit and Life’
Andile ka Majola – ‘Chapter 7’
Malusi Mbokazi – ‘Ngisize Nkosi’
Ayanda Ntazi – ‘Udumo’
Worship House – ‘True Worship 2015 (Live)’

Best African Pop Album
Nathi – ‘Buyelekhaya’
Zahara – ‘Country Girl’
Zonke – ‘Work of Heart’
Maleh – ‘You make my heart go’
Kabomo – ‘Sekusile’

Best Compilation Album
DJ Fresh – ‘Fresh House Flava Vol 18’
DJ Kanunu – ‘Soul Meditation 2’
Various Artists – ‘It’s Not A Party Without Us’999 Music – ‘Summer Ya Di Summer’


  1. even though AKA did not release lot of songs this year but I feel like COMPOSURE should be nominated for best single I mean that hit changed the game and MTEE deserves lots of awards he worked so hard CASS did not release any hit song for collaboration goes for BADDEST long live super mega live long cant wait for the album


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here