On your marks, get set… and start voting for the KIA Record of the Year (#KiaROTY)


SAMA_XXI_LOGO-page-001(1)The XXI Annual South African Music Awards has unveiled the 10 finalists for the KIA Record of the Year – and now it’s up to music loving South Africans to vote for the monster track that defined 2014.

The eagerly awaited shortlist of nominees for the coveted #KiaROTY title, the only awards category determined by a public poll, was announced during Live Amp on SABC1 on Friday, 13 March 2015.

The 10 nominees for the KIA Record of the Year are: Build it Up by Monark; Busa by Euphonik, Bob’Ezy and Mpumi; Caracara by K.O ft. Kid X; Congratulate by AKA; Easy to Love by Heavy K ft. Bucie; Pluto (Remember You) by DJ Clock ft. Beatenberg; Rafael by Beatenberg; Rainbow by Black Motion ft. Xoli M; Turn You On by Mi Casa; and Y Tjukutja by Uhuru ft. Professor, Oskido and DJ Bucks.

This year Beatenberg is the only act to receive two nominations, one of which is as a featured artist.

Voting lines are now open, and members of the public have until 21h00 on Sunday, 19 April 2015, the night of the XXI Annual South African Music Awards, to cast their SMS vote for the most loved South African song of last year.

SMS the code for your favourite track (see below) to 33123, with a maximum of 10 votes permitted per mobile number. SMSes cost R1.50 and free SMSes do not apply.

The winner of the KIA Record of the Year Award will be announced during the awards ceremony at the Sun City Superbowl, to be broadcast live on SABC1 at 20h30 on 19 April 2015.

So, what are you waiting for? It’s the 21st year of South Africa’s democracy and the 21st year of the Annual South African Music Awards, so don’t miss this chance to be part of true music democracy in action. The outcome of the KIA Record of the Year category depends on your vote, so get texting today and make your vote count.

Remember: The KIA Record of the Year is the ultimate accolade that a local tune can sport on its mantelpiece, since it’s determined by a popular vote. It’s in your hands!

Vote for the KIA Record of the Year by SMSing the keyword next to your favourite track (e.g. KIA 1) to 33123:
KIA 1  Build It Up – Monark
KIA 2  Busa – Euphonik, Bob’Ezy & Mpumi
KIA 3  Caracara – K.O ft. Kid X
KIA 4  Congratulate – AKA
KIA 5  Easy to Love –  Bucie ft Heavy K
KIA 6  Pluto (Remember You) – DJ Clock ft. Beatenberg
KIA 7  Rafael – Beatenberg
KIA 8  Rainbow – Black Motion ft. Xoli M
KIA 9  Turn You On – Mi Casa
KIA 10  Y Tjukutja – Uhuru ft. Professor, Oskido & DJ Bucks

For more information, visit www.samusicawards.co.za and find the nominated albums at iTunes.com/SAMA

• The KIA Record of the year nominees are selected based on total cumulative radio spins, on a wide range of radio stations, between 1 December 2013 and 30 November 2014. The data is drawn from two of the most reliable and widely used music media tracking sources to ensure both accuracy and reach

• The XXI Annual South African Music Awards is organised by the Recording Industry of South Africa (RiSA).

• The XXI Annual South African Music Awards is made possible with the generous support of official broadcast sponsor SABC1, Amstel Lager, official vehicle sponsor KIA Motors SA and event sponsor Sun International, supported by the National Department of Arts and Culture.

The Official hashtag for the KIA Record of the Year is #KiaROTY

Social media links for The XXI Annual South African Music Awards:
Website: www.samusicawards.co.za
Facebook: www.facebook.com/SouthAfricanMusicAwards
Twitter: @TheSamas
Instagram: @TheSamas_
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/samusicawards
iTunes: iTunes.com/SAMAXXI
Hashtags: #SAMAXXI