Simon Mabhunu Sabela Film & Television Awards 2016 – Full Winners List!

It was a great night of amazing performances and celebrations of excellence within the South African and international film industry as the 2016 Simon Mabhunu Sabela Film and Television Awards were held at the Durban ICC on Saturday (June 18) in Durban, Kwa-Zulu Natal.

FYI: The awards are named in honour of the late South African Film legend and icon Simon Mabhunu Sabela, the awards are an initiative of the KZN Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs and are implemented by the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission.

The winners are…

Best Actress in a Microbudget Film
Mandisa Nduna “Ms Msomi”- iLungelo

Best Microbudget Film
iLungelo – Durban Motion Pictures

Best Newcomer Actress in a Microbudget Film
Nomalanga Ndaba “Noma” – Isihlangu Somntanami

Best Newcomer Actor in a Microbudget Film
Ntokozo Sibisi “Mnqobi” – Konke Kufeziwe

Best Student Film – Davids Winter
Mathew Couperthwaite and Liana Hassim

Best Use of KZN as a Location
Imbulu – Zulu Hut Productions

Best Actor in a Microbudget Film
Scelo Gasa “Phanta” – Uk’shizila

Best Supporting Actress in a Microbudget Film
Bongekile Mpisane “Qhamukile” – Luthando 2

Best Director in a Microbudget Film
Philani Sithebe – iLungelo

Best Documentary Full Length
Triangle of Faith – Jayan Moodley

IsiZulu Film
Isihlangu Somntanami – Zulu Hut Productions

Best Screenplay in a Microbudget Film
Philani Sithebe – iLungelo

Best Documentary Short
The mystical powers of water– Tekweni Productions

Best Actor – TV
Vusi Kunene – Isibaya 3

Best Actress – TV
Dawn Thandeka King – Uzalo

Best Supporting Actor – TV
Bheki Mkhwane – Isibaya 3

Best Supporting Actress – TV
Celeste Ntuli – Isibaya 3

KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission Special Awards
Phindile Dhludhla

MEC Discretionary Award
Thoko Ntshinga; Somizi Mhlongo


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *