Wayde van Niekerk wins big at SA Sports Awards 2015


Wayde van Niekerk (23) was the big winner of the 10th annual SA Sports Awards on Sunday the 22 November in Mangaungm Free State taking home three awards in all, including Sports Star of the Year, 2015 People’s Choice Awards and Sportsman of the Year. Wayde also took home two Mercedes Benz cars.

Wayde is the fourth fastest man in history over 400m as he won his first world championship title in August at the IAAF World Championships BEIJING 2015.

Here is full list of winners:

Sports Star of the Year

Wayde van Niekerk

2015 People’s Choice Awards
Wayde van Niekerk

Sportsman of the Year
Wayde van Niekerk

Steve Tshwete Lifetime Achievement Award

Rev Makhenkesi Arnold Stofile
Mohamed Margiet
Enos Mafokate
Dr Chomane Chomane

Sportswoman of the Year
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio

Volunteer of the Year
Nkosinathi Ngubane

Coach of the Year
Graham Hill

Sportswoman with a Disability
Ilse Hayes

Sportsman with a Disability
Lucas Sithole

Team of The Year
Springbok Sevens

Newcomer of the Year
Kagiso Rabada

Sport Journalist of the Year
Bareng-Batho Kortjaas

Photographer of the Year
Veli Nhlapo

Recreational Body of the Year
Indigo Skate Cam

Indigenous Games Star of the Year
KZN Dibeke Team

National Federation of the Year
Basketball SA

Administrator of The Year
Virginia Mabaso

School Team of the Year
St John’s College – Junior Men’s Pair

Developing School Team of the Year
Montshiwa Primary School